MeritBadgeDotOrg:Guide to deletion

From MeritBadgeDotOrg

Jump to: navigation, search
This page documents an official MeritBadgeDotOrg policy, an accepted standard that all users should follow. Before editing a page, please make sure that your revision reflects consensus. When in doubt, discuss first on the talk page of the article in question.
This page in a nutshell:
  • Deletion and undeletion are performed by administrators based on policy and guidelines, not personal likes and dislikes
  • There are two processes for deleting items, and one post-deletion review process
  • Pages that can be improved should be edited or tagged, not deleted (or nominated for deletion)
  • The MeritBadgeDotOrg deletion policy describes how pages which do not meet the relevant content criteria are identified and removed.

    Contents

    Reasons for deletion

    Reasons for deletion include, but are not limited to, the following:

    • Advertising (or SPAM)
    • Content that does not belong here (or not suitable for this wiki)
    • Content that is not verifiable, or factual and accurate
    • Failure to meet our policies/guidelines
    • Hoax articles
    • Images that are unused, obsolete, violate fair-use policy, or inappropriate
    • Inappropriate content on user pages
    • Inflammatory
    • Patent nonsense or gibberish
    • Redundant articles or templates
    • Vandalism that is not correctable


    Alternatives to deletion

    Editing

    If the page can be improved, this should be solved through regular editing, rather than deletion. A variety of tags can be added to articles to note the problem. Some of the more common ones include:

    • {{cleanup}} for poor writing
    • {{npov}} for bias
    • {{stub}} for a short article
    • {{unreferenced}} for lack of verifiability
    • {{merge}} for a small article which could be merged into a larger one.

    Pages with an incorrect name can simply be renamed via page movement procedure. Disputes over the name are discussed on the talk page.

    Vandalism to a page's content can be reverted by any user.

    Merging

    If two pages are duplicates or otherwise redundant, one should be merged and redirected to the other, using the most common, or more general page name. This does not require process or debate beforehand.

    Discussion

    "Main" namespace articles: Disputes over "article" pages are not dealt with by summary deletion, unless an administrator determines it to be necessary and appropriate.

    Policies and guidelines: Disagreements over policies or guidelines are not dealt with by deletion — Contact RWSmith, instead. (Only bureaucrats may change/delete policies.)

    User pages: Users are certainly entitled to address inappropriate content on another user's page through discussion with the user on the user's talk page. Note, however, should an administrator find a user page that needs to be deleted, it may be done, with or without explanation. (See: User pages.)

    Talk pages: Except under extraordinary circumstances, content on talk pages should not be deleted — edited, amended, added to, clarified, whatever... okay; but, not deleted. The content of a talk page is the historical record of and, as such, key to the community-oriented development of the article page that it is dedicated to. If and when necessary, this should be done by an administrator.

    Content issues: The content issues should be discussed at the relevant talk page, and other methods of dispute resolution should be used first, such as requesting comments for further input. Deletion discussions that are really unresolved content disputes may be closed by an administrator, and referred to the talk page or other appropriate forum.

    Archiving

    Deletion should not be used for (or confused with) "archiving" a page. MediaWiki is designed so that the deleted pages can be cleared or removed from the database at any time.

    Processes for deletion

    • Administrators may summarily delete pages for any of the reasons stated above, with or without explanation.
    • Users may nominate a page deletion (also for any of the reasons stated above) by following two easy steps:
    Step 1. Apply the {{Delete}} template at the top of the actual page you are nominating for deletion.
    • Note: Remember to make use of your edit summary... plainly state you applied the {{Delete}} template.
    Step 2. State your request and reasons on the associated talk page. Make sure you apply a level 1 heading (see Help:Editing) titled Request for deletion at the top of your request.
    • Note: Again, make use of your edit summary... plainly state you are nominating the associated article for deletion (and briefly state why).
    — If (for some odd reason) you need to nominate a talk page for deletion, simply apply steps 1 & 2 on the talk page itself. (Don't forget your edit summary.)
    See the {{Delete}} template for details.

    Notes

    • Deletion of an article removes the current version and all previous versions from view.
    • Unlike page blanking, which can be performed (or reverted) by any user, deletion can be performed only by administrators.
    • Administrators can also view deleted pages and reverse ("undelete") any deletion. All such actions are logged.
    Personal tools
    language